Custom Costume Builds

Skyrim Daedric Sword Test Build

Ok, so for the last few weeks I’ve been playing Skyrim,… non stop. (level 73 as of this posting) Finally gotten to the point that I can tear myself away from the game long enough to actually start making something. Here is the first “Skyrim” project in the works, a Daedric Sword. Started on this today and got everything shown in the first video done in about 4 hours time. I should have the 2nd half of the build finished tomorrow and will be putting together the video for that soon after. Most of the tools, materials and techniques I’m showing are the same ones I used to make all the Mass Effect stuff.

PART 2:

Test version of the Skyrim Daedric sword made in EVA foam finished in just under 2 days. A bit of a rush job, admittedly. I cut a lot of corners and took a few liberty’s with the design, slapped some paint on it with a brush (no airbrush) and called it finished. After all it was just a trial build to figure out how I will be making the swords to go with my armor later this year. After making this I now have several ideas on how to improve the final prop, which should go much faster and look a lot nicer.

Let the gaming now resume! .. er,.. I mean the costume research!

20 responses

  1. Will Mitchell

    Pretty promising so far man! I’ve still got a bunch of foam tucked under my bed that I was going to use for a bigger project but I think I might do something like a sword soon because it’s so much quicker. Looking forward to seeing the rest!

    December 30, 2011 at 2:46 pm

  2. Robert Simkins

    I want to thank you for posting some videos further explaining your methods. I’ve been dieing for a little bit of better explanation. I’m finally venturing into my first cosplay using yours and a few other crafter’s methods.

    January 19, 2012 at 2:28 am

    • I plan to fully document the upcoming Skyrim Daedric Armor builds in video format, which should show many more tips and tricks of how I work with the EVA foam.

      January 19, 2012 at 8:55 pm

  3. Robert Simkins

    Wonderful. I can’t wait to see them. I’m starting a cosplay of Cyborg Ninja from the first Metal Gear Solid, and I feel that the methods you use can easily be adapted to work for my suit. :)

    January 20, 2012 at 2:49 am

  4. Pingback: Skyrim Daedric Sword Build Part 2 « Times

  5. Pingback: Skyrim Daedric Sword IRL of the Day - TDW Geeks

  6. Pingback: DIY Skyrim Daedric Sword Test Build [Video]

  7. Pingback: DIY Skyrim Daedric Sword Test Build [Video] | nerdwidget.com

  8. Pingback: DIY Skyrim Daedric Sword Test Build [Video] - Gatgetsaholic.com

  9. How long’s the overall length of the sword?

    January 27, 2012 at 6:29 am

    • Well, if you had watched the videos on the making you wouldn’t be asking this question,.. but I’ll answer it anyway. about 35 inches long.

      January 27, 2012 at 9:02 pm

  10. Joe

    Can I build it without plagiarism

    February 7, 2012 at 7:30 pm

  11. Pingback: DIY Skyrim Daedric Sword Test Build [Video] | My Blog

  12. Matthew

    You got really good talent man, I’d love to see how your daedric armor turns out. That would be really cool. Looks like I’m going to have to make weapons from skyrim. Even if they are made if foam, they would make really cool display.

    February 28, 2012 at 10:14 am

  13. jahoosafatz

    Un believable. There’s artists, then there’s artistic master craftsmen. Yer the latter. If you ever get around to crafting two Daedric Maces, (Legendary of coarse…) with fire & lightning damage, please gimmie a shout-out. I may perchase them from you if they’re cost effectiveish… Oh yeah, thanx fer sharing the process! OOOOSSS CHAAAAHHHH!!

    March 31, 2012 at 2:41 am

  14. Bob shimble

    Can you tell us where you got the EVA foam and what that sand paper roll thing is called? And can you tell us how you traced the sword so big? Can you also show us how to make the armor/sheath and show us the finnIshed project?

    Thanks

    July 13, 2012 at 4:35 am

    • Sears and Kmart mostly, its called a Dremil sanding bit, Watch the video (part 1 to see the pattern making) Never made a sheath so your on your own there. Finished project is shown in video and photos, but I am willing to arrange an in person viewing for a substantial appearance fee.

      September 6, 2012 at 1:36 am

  15. Jane tut

    Any suggestions? I do not have a projection screen at my house. Do you know of any way I could get a good and big drawing of the sword?

    Thanks

    July 13, 2012 at 4:42 am

    • you can do it on a smaller screen, its just a little more work moving the image and paper around to trace it out. Also you can often sign up for time at local libraries to use their projection equipment.

      September 6, 2012 at 1:31 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers