Custom Costume Builds

Mass Effect 2 – N7 Armor Build – Tool Q&A 1

Questions:

1. You said you dremel the edges of the foam? Are you coating the foam in something or just leaving it as is? Its hard to picture sanding down plain foam…

2. Related to #1, do you seal the foam before you paint?

3. What kind of heat gun do you use?

Answers:

1 & 2. Yes, I use a dremil with different tips depending on what I am doing, but these are my most used tips in general:
For sanding, beveling and smoothing the edges

Cutting the detail lines

If its a large flat surface area that needs sanding I will even use sandpaper and/or a sanding block on it.

Since I am actually using the rubber coated underside or back of the foam as the front this time I wont have to do much sealing. I can paint the rubber side with no problems. The only time that the foam side of the foam needs to be sealed is if you are going to paint it. On past builds I have tried different things to seal it, Krylon clear coat, Modge Podge, Craft sealants, glues, etc. All seem to work ok but still haven’t found anything that works really well. One of the guys I know who makes foam suits used rubber shoe glue to seal the foam, (diluted to about 50% and sprayed or brushed on) but I have yet to try this method.

3. I use a Heavy duty Black & Decker w/2 heat settings. (using mostly high heat)

3 responses

  1. John M.

    Good sir, I have a new appreciation for detail work with the rotary tool/dremel. You must have a very steady hand, indeed. When detailing with foam, I have wondered if having a flex shaft accessory would make it easier when going for those fine, precise edges. Have you found it unnecessary to use a flex shaft with the rotary tool?

    Thanks for your time and sharing your work with the public.

    August 29, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    • I use the flex shaft for everything.

      September 6, 2012 at 1:19 am

  2. Jessica

    What do you use to glue the webbing to the eva?

    October 27, 2013 at 5:47 am

Leave a Reply

