Custom Costume Builds

Fem Shepard N7 Armor Day 9 thru 12

Day 9: I got the rest of the torso harness finished and installed. Shoulder straps, collar attachments and crotch. Shoulder armor almost completed now. Only need to cut in the details.

Next up is the bicep, elbow and forearms.

=================================

Day 10: First test fitting. I detailed the shoulders, added another piece of strapping to the bottom of the shoulder plates to secure them on the arms, and finished the biceps. Still need to do some work on the elbows.

Next will be the forearms.

=========================================

Day 11: Got most of the forearms done. Still some detailing and strapping to finish.

=========================================

Day 12: Forearms almost finished. All the elastic strapping is in.

Also got the raw pieces for the hands cut out, just need to sand and shape them.

8 responses

  1. Curtis

    i really love your build so far , was wondering if you have any prints out of the male version i could use my self i would like to attempt this my self

    let me know
    C

    July 2, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    • Nothing other than the image of the pattern I drew out. You could probably blow that up to make one. Check on my earlier posts for the image.

      July 2, 2010 at 11:23 pm

  2. GeneBean

    I’ve been doing my best to get some ideas from your progress (Your N7 costumes are the best I have EVER seen!) and I was wondering what you used for the arms? How you created the breastplate was brilliant. Did you use some sort of piping to wrap around and form the shape? Also, did you get some of the special cutting tools to do the detailing? I plan on working on a fem and male Shepard costume with a friend of mine over the next year and I want it to look just as legit as yours!

    February 27, 2012 at 2:50 pm

  3. bahrooce

    Your build is awesome. I’m collecting supplies to try this myself. I did have some questons – Is the strapping shown here velcro, elastic, or something else? How do you get the strapping to stick to the foam? Where did the rectangular clips come from?

    March 24, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    • Combinations of velcro, elastic and nylon strapping on various parts. Clips and other materials can be found at strapworks.com or most craft/fabric stores.

      March 28, 2012 at 7:56 pm

      • bahrooce

        Thanks for the quick reply. But how do you get the elastic to stick to the foam?

        March 30, 2012 at 3:57 am

      • Hot Glue.

        March 30, 2012 at 5:08 pm

  4. Jessica

    Did you use 3/8 for the body and legs? I tried to make a set of armor last year and had a hard time molding the 1/2 inch mats. I also had a problem with keeping the webbing attached. I use hot glue to attach it, but it came apart a while longer. Hot glue worked well for attaching the eva to the eva but not so well for the webbing.

    October 27, 2013 at 5:53 am

Leave a Reply

