Custom Costume Builds

N7 Update

Doing minor tweaks and alterations to the various parts of the suits. One of the things I have learned from wearing costumes for long periods of time is they need to be comfortable and properly fitted to ensure they hold up well and don’t have any malfunctions while wearing them. So basically I’ve just been doing some minor alterations and adjustments to them. Once I get that out of the way the only things left are the lower legs and feet, then it’s coloring/painting time!

Here is a photo from a recent test fit of the female. No belt installed on it yet so she had to hold the legs in place for the photo.

11 responses

  1. Ian

    Ian~

    I’m loving the Mass Effect 2 costume man it looks amazing so far. I’ll tell you what though, you are very gifted thats for sure. Out of curiosity do you sell these? If so how much would it be roughly to purchase the male version of the commander Shepard costume? If you dont mind me asking.

    July 30, 2010 at 3:50 am

  2. Chris

    Yes I am curious too. How much would you sell one of these for?

    July 30, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    • No plans to sell any atm. These are construction builds so no way to ever mass produce them. I do accept costume commissions, usually price is based on time, material costs and complexity. After Dragon Con is over (mid September) check back with me.

      July 30, 2010 at 8:52 pm

  3. Ian

    I see, alright then will do, because I’m very interested in one of these

    July 31, 2010 at 2:22 am

  4. Nick

    The costumes look great, but I’m having a hard time figuring out what material you’re using.

    July 31, 2010 at 5:53 am

    • Its EVA sheet foam,.. aka floor mats.

      July 31, 2010 at 7:35 am

  5. Michelle

    I have a question about the EVA sheet foam. What MM are you using? The foam seems durable from the picture but is it the kind of foam you can buy at the craft stores? Or do you use a more durable strength/variety? I’m looking to make my own version of this costume for Halloween and was considering using Sintra but have been told that EVA foam is more lightweight and easier to work with.

    March 2, 2011 at 2:59 am

  6. Maia

    Wow, this costume looks great. I do have a question about the foam you’re using, I saw that you had to heat and mold the breastplate for the fem shep armour, but how do you mold, persay, the upper legs and the arms?

    August 2, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    • The same way, just much simpler/easier as they are basic curves where the breasts are complex curves.

      December 30, 2011 at 10:44 am

  7. Mariya

    I have a question: What are you using for the underarmour?

    I myself am planning a suit of armour and am wondering what you’re using.

    July 12, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    • Mostly I use Lycra/Spandex unitards for the under suits.

      September 6, 2012 at 1:37 am

Leave a Reply

